Delta State Emerged Winners Of Fifth National Youth Games

Team Delta has emerged winners of the fifth edition of the National Youth Games after garnering forty one gold thirty two silver and thirty one bronze medals.

Team Delta which had won the previous editions also smashed the medals record at the games after surpassing the twenty seven gold medals it had when it won the fourth edition.

Team Lagos finished a distant second after picking twenty two gold thirty six silver and fourteen bronze medals. Team Lagos which had finished second at last years edition with twenty four gold medals had initially been touted to unseat Team Delta at this years edition.

Final Medals Table

Team Bayelsa which finished third last year also finished third this year after collecting seventeen gold six silver and twenty two bronze medals with Team Akwa Ibom placing fourth after claiming fifteen gold twelve silver and thirteen bronze medals.

Team Edo finished fifth on the medals table after picking thirteen gold seven silver and ten bronze medals with Team Ogun placing sixth after collecting nine gold six silver and seventeen bronze medals followed by Team Ondo which seight gold nine silver and ten bronze medals.

Team Oyo finished in eighth place after claiming seven gold seventeen silver and thirteen bronze medals followed by Team FCT which collected seven gold five silver and thirteen bronze medals with Team Plateau completing the top ten after picking seven gold four silver and five bronze medals.

The Governor of Kwara State Alhaji Abdulrazak Abdulrahman while thanking the States for participating assured that next years edition will be better while the Minister for Sports Mr Akin Dare represented by the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry said the competition had produced future athletes for the nation and the ministry will continue to invest in the ground.

TheExecutive Chairman of the Delta State Sports Commission Chief Tonobok Okowa thanked the athletes for doing the State proud.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *